Minutes of the NOVEMBER 2007 General Meeting, Arizona Chapter MOAA

A Luncheon Meeting of the General Membership was held on November 17, 2007, at the McCormick Ranch Golf Club. President Terry Tassin called the meeting to order at 12:00 PM. Robert Rutherford gave the Invocation and the President led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members and Guests Present: 44

President: Terry Tassin introduced new members Ron Klaphake and his wife Penny; and John Ady.

Reports:

 Scholarship Fund
 \$4564.57

 \$12,199.96

Legislative Report: Gary Fredricks reported that the congress has adjourned for the Thanksgiving Holiday and won't return to work until the first week of December. The Defense Authorization Bill is still in the works and is not expected to be passed and signed until after the first of the year. He encouraged everyone to check out the MOAA website and use the Legislative Action tab for contacting your representative to vote for House Bill 3038: Medicare Physician Payment Reform Act 2007.

Personal Affairs Report: Dan Conway presented several of the useful information booklets that can be easily acquired through the MOAA website for free. Ron Green presented information on how veteran's who are 100 % service related disabled can get discounted Arizona license plate. **President:** Terry Tassin briefed on several items from the last board meeting.

a. Vice Admiral Ryan presented the Chapter's Five Star Streamer to Terry at the Tucson's Chapter's 50th Anniversary Banquet.

b. Christmas Luncheon Program will be the "Dickens Caroler's during lunch

c. Chapter name tags are available through Dee Norton. The cost is only \$5. Everyone is encouraged to wear their name tags at the luncheons.

d. Membership Renewal Drive for 2008 begins in December and everyone is encouraged to pay their dues early. The renewal form can be found in the December Sentinel.

Lunch was served.

Program:

a. Chapter's Meritorious Service Award were presented to: Pat Dale, Gary Fredricks, Marie Fredricks, Bill Johnson, Ron Perkins, Chuck Schluter, Terry Tassin, and Ron Worthington. Chuck Schluter was absent and will receive his award at the December meeting.

b. The Nominees for 2008 Elected Staff Positions were voted on and unanimously approved by the attendees. The 2008 staff is as follows: President Terry Tassin, 1st VP Ron Worthington, 2nd VP Ron Perkins, Secretary Ron Perkins, Treasurer Bill Johnson, Directors: Chet Baumer, Ron Drew, Gary Fredricks, Ron Green, and Chuck Schluter.

c. Chapter 50/50 raffle was held with \$60 being paid out and \$60 entered into the Scholarship account. Winners were:

\$20 prize won by Frank Birtciel

\$20 prize won by Mike Grady

\$20 prize won by Ron Perkins

Motion to Adjourn was made and seconded. The meeting adjourned at 1:35 PM.

Submitted: Ron Perkins AZ Chapter Secretary